This website can be best viewed in Microsoft Internet Explorer 9.0+, Chrome, Firefox
Emergency Contact
Blood Bank
02223667811 / 7820

For Appointments / OPD

Hospital No.:23667800/7799
Clinic No.:24943636
Secretary No.:23667800/799
Days Timings

Dr. Praful Desai


Master of Surgery-1958

Fellow Royal College of Sugeons Edinburgh-UK-1960

Fellow American College of Sugeons-USA- 1968



Joined Surgical Faculty of Tata Memorial Hospital, 1960.

Former Director & Cheif of Surgery, Tata Memorial Hospitaln, Mumbai, 1980-1997.

Reported directly to chairmen of Atomic Energy Commision(DR Vikram Sarabhai, DR raja Ramanna, DR. Homi Sethna, Dr. PK Lyenagar, Dr. P Chidambaran, Dr. MR Srinivasan) during tenure at the Tata Memorial Hospital.

Senior Surgical Oncologist, Bombay Hostpital / Breach Candy Hospital, Mumbai(Currently).

President, Surgical Oncology Section, Associaltion of Sugeons of India(ASI), 1977-1979
Established a Rural Cancer Centre at Barsi(Sholapur District), 1983. Recognized by the WHO as model low cost, low technology centre for developing countries. Now a referral cancer centre in the area.

Co-ordinator for WHO and Indian Counciil o Medical Reserch (ICMR) Cancer control Programmes for India.

Extablished Professional Education Division at Tata Memorial Hospital.

Conceived and implemented ACTREC(Advanced Centre for Treatment, Reserch, and Education in Cancer), New Mumbai, 1985.

Organised Technology Transfer Programmes (Oncology) across India, 1986.

Secretary General of International UICC cancer Conferance, Delhi, 1994 (attended by 4,500 delegates).

Professional inputs for creation of cancer Institutes in India-Miraj(Dist Sangli), Jaipur, Rajkot, Raipur.

Trained two generations of Surgical Oncologists at Tata Memorial Hospital.

Chairman and Member of Research Advisary Committees(Oncology).

Examinar for MS(General Surgery) at various Indian Univercities and FRCS at Edinburgh. 2001-2004.

Scientific Pubclication- National & Internation Journals, Monograms, Chapters in Books on Surgical Oncology.

Associate Editor, Journal Surgical Oncology(USA).

Executive Committee Member of UICC(General), International Union Against Cancer. 1990-1994.



Padma Bhushan(Govt of India, 1981

BC Roy National Award, 1981

Indian Council of Medical ResearchICMR()Award for Clinical Cancer Reserch, 1985

American Cancer Society Award, Contribution to Oncology, 1994

SYME lecturship Award of Royal College of Surgeons EDINBURGH, UK, 1996

Mucio Athayde International Cancer Award of the UICC, Geneva, 1998 at Rio-De-Janeiro, BRAZIL

Harvard Medical International Lifetime Achievement Award-For Contribution to Oncology in India, 2003

Lifetime Achievement Award_ International Cancer Congress(HCG NCHRI Cancer Centre), 2016

Lifetime Achievement Award_ Association of Surgeons of India,2010

Lifetime Achievement Award - Association of Laparoscopy for Surgery of Esophagus

Visiting Professor- Harvard Medical School, Dana Farver Cancer Institude, Boston, USA, 2004-2005

Visiting Professor- Sloan- Kettering Cancer Centre, New Yord, USA(1982-1983)

Dhanavantari Award (Dhanavantari Foundation), 2007

Many other life Time Achievement Awards

Get in touch