This website can be best viewed in Microsoft Internet Explorer 9.0+, Chrome, Firefox
Emergency Contact
Blood Bank
02223667811 / 7820

For Appointments / OPD

Hospital No.: 23667800/7799
Clinic No.: 22040359
Secretary No.: 23667800/799
Days Timings

Dr. Tehemton E Udwadia (Coordinator)



M.B.B.S. University of Bombay 1956

M.S. University of Bombay 1960

F.C.P.S. College of Physicians and Surgeons, Bombay 1960

F.R.C.S. Edinburgh 1963

F.R.C.S. England 1963



60 years in Surgery



Padma Bhushan National Award, New Delhi (2017)

Key-note Oration Indian Association of Gastrointestinal Endo-Surgeons (IAGES) Annual Conference, Gurgaon (2016)

Key-note Oration Nepal College of Surgeons, Kathmandu (2015)

Felicitation 31st May 2015 - Indian Association of Gastrointestinal Endo-Surgeons (IAGES), Association of Minimal Access Surgeons of India (AMASI), Society of Endoscopic and Laparoscopic Surgeons of India (SELSI) – Combined Felicitation of Silver Jubilee of Laparoscopic Surgery in India, Mumbai (31st May 2015)

Lifetime Achievement Award, Society of American Gastrointestinal Endoscopic Surgeons (SAGES), Salt Lake City (2013)

Honorary Fellowship, American College of Surgeons (ACS), Washington, D.C. (2010)

Lifetime Achievement Award Association of Surgeons of India (ASI), New Delhi (2010)

Convocation Address: First Convocation of Padma Shree D. Y. Patil Deemed University, Nerul, Navi Mumbai (2010)

4th H. M. Patel Memorial Lecture. Charutar Arogya Mandal Karamsad. “Surgical Care in India” Vallabh Vidyanagar (2008)

Award of Excellence – Indian Association of Gastrointestinal Endo-Surgeons (2007)

Lobo Memorial Oration, Christian Medical College, Ludhiana (2006)

Padma Shri National Award, New Delhi (2006)

Key Note Address, Annual Conference of German Society of Visceral Surgery, Berlin, (2006)

Order of the British Empire (OBE) by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II (2006)

Key-note Inauguration Oration – 7th Asia Pacific Congress of Endoscopic Surgery.

“Navigating Laparoscopic Surgery into the next decade”, Hong Kong (2005)

Lifetime Achievement Award Indian Association of Gastrointestinal Endo-Surgeons (IAGES) Ludhiana, (2004)

Presented Special Gold Medal and Citation by Dr. Abdul Kalam, President of India, New Delhi (2004)

Dr. B. C. Roy National Award, New Delhi (2000)

The Society of American Gastrointestinal Endoscopic Surgeons (SAGES) Millennium Award, Atlanta (2000)

Special Award by the Minister of Health, Kuwait for support to the Surgical Community of Kuwait, Kuwait (2000)

5th Sir Ganga Ram Oration, New Delhi (2000)

Prestigious College Lecture, Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh (RCS), Kuwait (2000)



Two landmark Books:

  • “LAPAROSCOPIC CHOLECYSTECTOMY”, Prof. Tehemton E. Udwadia, Oxford University Press, Bombay, 1991, Reprinted in 1993 (one of the earliest books on MAS in World Literature)
  • “LAPAROSCOPIC SURGERY IN DEVELOPING COUNTRIES”, Prof. Tehemton E. Udwadia, Jaypee Brothers Medical Publishers (P) Ltd., New Delhi, 1997. Second Edition 2002

Contributing Author to twenty eight books on Surgery

Over 100 Original Articles published in National and International Journals over 58 active years in practice and teaching of Surgery from 1958 to date

Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Minimal Access Surgery (2004 to date)

Past Chairman/Editor Indian Journal of Surgery (2000- 2003)

Member Editorial Board:

British Journal of Surgery, National Medical Journal of India, International Surgery, Quarterly Journal of Surgical Sciences, H.P.B., Journal of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and Ireland, E.L.S.A., Asian Journal of Clinical Surgery, Pakistan Journal of Surgery, International Journal of Surgery

Get in touch